Diamond Secures Ballot Slot

Vote Russ Diamond for State Representative

February 6, 2024

State Representative Russ Diamond (R-102) today confirmed that he has successfully filed the required paperwork with the Department of State to have his name appear on the ballot in 2024, a full week before the filing deadline.

"We included 500 signatures with our initial filing," said Diamond, "and we'll be adding many more next week with a supplemental filing."

The minimum requirement for state House candidates is 300 signatures from voters registered with the same party affiliation who reside in the candidate's district. Diamond credited voters for his early and convincing success this year.

"People were more than willing get in their cars and travel to come to me to sign my petition," added Diamond. "I think that speaks to their confidence in me as a common sense conservative leader in Harrisburg, and I'm grateful they're so willing to be part of our campaign team. I couldn't do this without their support."

In addition to coordinating his own petitioning effort, Diamond cultivated over 170 signatures in support of Donald Trump for President, over 125 each for Dave McCormick for US Senate, Dan Meuser for US Congress, Stacy Garrity for State Treasurer, Dave Sunday for Attorney General, and Tim DeFoor for Auditor General, as well as over 100 each for Steven Wolfe and Jessica Morgan for Delegate to the Republican National Convention.

Diamond expressed chagrin regarding an announced challenger in his state House race.

"In 2024 we need every Republican on the same page to defeat the Democrats in the fall. It's a shame that I'll have to spend precious resources and energy defeating a sour grapes campaign of character attacks fueled by a tiny handful of malcontents with grudges. I'd rather be focusing my efforts on winning back the House majority and helping our statewide candidates, but I guess that will have wait until after this primary is over," Diamond concluded.

The primary election will be held on Tuesday, Aptil 23rd. The 102nd Legislative District includes Annville, Bethel, Cold Spring, East Hanover, Heidelberg, Jackson, Millcreek, North Annville, North Londonderry, Swatara, and Union townships as well as the boroughs of Cleona, Jonestown, Myerstown, Palmyra and Richland.

Subscribe to Capitol Insights!